ISABELLE ADJANI

ISABELLE ADJANI

Actress, France

Citation

“Cinema is, among other things, a producer of revelations, in the sense that it allows the dark side of things to exist.”

“I am crazy about romance. But I don’t plan anything, I look out for what resonates within me, what I want to bring into existence.”

“There are probably still for me some queens left to play! Maybe even an empress!”

Presentation

François Truffaut used to say of Isabelle Adjani: “She ought to be filmed every day, even on Sundays.”

From the start of her career, she was one of the most desired actresses in the whole world. Deeply moving and generous, she was every filmmaker’s dream, capable of playing in any register, which meant she was courted by the greats. François Truffaut, André Téchiné, Roman Polanski, Claude Miller, Werner Herzog, James Ivory, Patrice Chereau, and Jean-Paul Rappeneau all gave her stand-out roles, and made some of their best films thanks to her exceptional talent.

Isabelle Adjani often plays strong women, who she embodies passionately. This earned her a double acting award at the Festival de Cannes for her roles in Andrzej Żuławski’s Possession and Quartet by James Ivory. After collecting four César awards for her performances in Possession, along with One Deadly Summer by Jean Becker, Camille Claudel by Bruno Nuytten, and Queen Margot by Patrice Chéreau, she won a fifth for her role in Skirt Day by Jean-Paul Lilienfeld, making her the actress with the most Césars to-date.

Selected Filmography

THE SLAP (La Gifle) Claude PinoteauPrix Suzanne Bianchetti

THE STORY OF ADELE H. (L'Histoire d'Adèle H.) François TruffautPrix d’Interprétation/Best Actress New York Film Critics Circle Awards & National Society of Film Critics Awards & National Board of Review, Donatello de la Meilleure Jeune Actrice/Donatello new coming actress, Bambi de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress (Allemagne/Germany), Nominations au César & à l’Oscar de la Meilleure Actrice/Academy Award & César Nomination

POSSESSION Andrzej Zulawski – Prix d’Interprétation féminine/Best Actress Festival de Cannes 1981, César 1982 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress, Prix de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress Festival de Porto

QUARTET James Ivory – Prix d’Interprétation féminine/Best Actress Festival de Cannes 1981

ONE DEADLY SUMMER (L'Été meurtrier) Jean Becker – César 1984 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress

SUBWAY Luc Besson – Nomination au César de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress

CAMILLE CLAUDEL Bruno Nuytten – Ours d’argent de la Meilleure Actrice/Silver Bear for Best Actress Berlin 1989, César 1989 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress, Prix d’Interprétation féminine (Belgique/ Belgium), Nomination à l’Oscar de la Meilleure Actrice/Academy Award Nomination

QUEEN MARGOT (La Reine Margot) Patrice Chéreau – César 1995 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress

ADOLPHE Benoit Jacquot – Cygne d’or de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress & Cygne Coup de Cœur Festival de Cabourg

SKIRT DAY (La Journée de la jupe) Jean-Paul Lilienfeld – César 2010 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress, Prix Lumière – Globe de cristal – Étoile d’or de la Meilleure Actrice

CAROLE MATTHIEU Louis-Julien Petit


 

 As part of the Tribute paid by the Marrakech Film Festival to Isabelle Adjani, a complete filmography is also available on this link :

The entire filmography

ISABELLE ADJANI

ISABELLE ADJANI

Comédienne, France

Citation

« Le cinéma, même s’il ne sert pas qu’à ça, est producteur de révélations, dans le sens où il permet de faire exister la face cachée des choses. »

« Mon métier n’est pas une profession, mais une profession de foi. J’ai besoin, illusion ou pas, de croire qu’il y a une utilité dans ce que je fais, ne serait-ce que pour avoir envie de le faire. »

« J’aime à la folie le romanesque. Mais je ne planifie rien, j’écoute ce qui entre en résonance avec moi, ce que j’ai envie de faire exister. »

Présentation

François Truffaut disait d’Isabelle Adjani « Il faudrait la filmer tous les jours, même le dimanche ».

Dès ses débuts, elle s’impose comme l’une des actrices les plus désirées du monde entier. Bouleversante, généreuse, rêvée par tous les cinéastes et capable de jouer tous les registres, elle est courtisée par les plus grands. François Truffaut, André Téchiné, Roman Polanski, Claude Miller, Werner Herzog, James Ivory, Patrice Chéreau ou Jean-Paul Rappeneau lui offrent des rôles qui la distinguent et réalisant ainsi leurs plus beaux film grâce à son talent exceptionnel.

Privilégiant les rôles de femmes fortes qu’elle incarne avec passion, Isabelle Adjani reçoit une double Palme d’interprétation au Festival de Cannes pour ses rôles dans Possession d’Andrzej Żuławski et Quartet de James Ivory. Après quatre César pour ses rôles dans Possession, L’Été meurtrier de Jean Becker, Camille Claudel de Bruno Nuytten, et La Reine Margot de Patrice Chéreau, elle en obtient un cinquième, pour son interprétation dans La Journée de la jupe de Jean-Paul Lilienfeld, faisant d’elle l’actrice la plus récompensée par l’Académie à ce jour.

Ce n’est pas à une actrice que le Festival rend hommage mais à un mythe, lumière du firmament cinématographique.

Filmographie sélective

THE SLAP (La Gifle) Claude PinoteauPrix Suzanne Bianchetti

THE STORY OF ADELE H. (L'Histoire d'Adèle H.) François TruffautPrix d’Interprétation/Best Actress New York Film Critics Circle Awards & National Society of Film Critics Awards & National Board of Review, Donatello de la Meilleure Jeune Actrice/Donatello new coming actress, Bambi de la Meilleure Actrice(Allemagne/Germany), Nominations au César & à l’Oscar de la Meilleure Actrice

POSSESSION Andrzej Zulawski – Prix d’Interprétation féminine/Best Actress Festival de Cannes 1981, César 1982 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress, Prix de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress Festival de Porto

QUARTET James Ivory – Prix d’Interprétation féminine/Best Actress Festival de Cannes 1981

ONE DEADLY SUMMER (L'Été meurtrier) Jean Becker – César 1984 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress

SUBWAY Luc Besson – Nomination au César de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress

 CAMILLE CLAUDEL Bruno Nuytten – Ours d’argent de la Meilleure Actrice/Silver Bear for Best Actress Berlin 1989, César 1989 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress, Prix d’Interprétation féminine (Belgique/ Belgium), Nomination à l’Oscar de la Meilleure Actrice/Academy Award Nomination

QUEEN MARGOT (La Reine Margot) Patrice Chéreau – César 1995 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress

ADOLPHE Benoit Jacquot – Cygne d’or de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress & Cygne Coup de Cœur Festival de Cabourg

SKIRT DAY (La Journée de la jupe) Jean-Paul Lilienfeld – César 2010 de la Meilleure Actrice/Best Actress, Prix Lumière – Globe de cristal – Étoile d’or de la Meilleure Actrice

CAROLE MATTHIEU Louis-Julien Petit


Dans le cadre de l’Hommage rendu par le Festival de Marrakech à Isabelle Adjani, une filmographie complète est également disponible sur le lien suivant :

Filmographie complète