News

Today’s guest .. Isabelle ADJANI

Isabelle-ADJANI

A queen in Marrakech.

Tonight, the Marrakech Festival pays a career tribute to a shining star in the cinema firmament, Isabelle Adjani.

Adjani's acclaimed career is distinguished by her exquisite performances in playing strong female characters. Such a passionate, bold and talented actress that she can be compared to a queen. Her art is timelessly intriguing, but, never loosing track with reality, she takes interests on global concerns. As part of the career tribute that she receives in Marrakech, her latest film, Carole Matthieu by Louis-Julien Petitwhich she initiated and has been just released in France- will be screened at the Palais Des Congres. In this social thriller she plays a physician who denounces the poor working conditions inflicted on the employees of a call center who leads a struggle to compel the managers to change their ways.

Since the beginning of her prolific career as a comedian, Isabelle Adjani’s talent stole the limelight. She quickly became one of the most coveted actresses in the world. Terrific, generous and skillful in performing different type of characters, she drew the interest of some of the world’s most eminent directors, including François Truffaut, André Téchiné, Roman Polanski, Claude Miller, Werner Herzog, James Ivory, Patrice Chéreau and JeanPaul Rappeneau, who offered her great roles. Thanks to her exceptional talent, they were able to make some of their best works.

Adjani received a double Cannes Film Festival's Best Actress award for her roles in Possession by Andrzej Zuławski and Quartet by James Ivory. After receiving four Césars for her roles in Possession, One Deadly Summer by Jean Becker, Camille Claudel by Bruno Nuytten and Queen Margot by Patrice Chéreau, she won a fifth distinciton for her role in La journée de la jupe by Jean-Paul Lilienfeld, thus becoming the most nominated actress by the Academy. Isabelle is Marrakech’s promise.

Actualité du

L’invitée du jour.. Isabelle Adjani

Isabelle-ADJANI

Une reine à Marrakech.

Ce soir, le Festival de Marrakech rend hommage à Isabelle Adjani, actrice et fulgurante lumière du firmament cinématographique.

Une carrière marquée par des rôles de femmes fortes qu'elle incarne avec ferveur et engagement. Une actrice aussi passionnée qu’audacieuse, aussi talentueuse qu'habitée, aussi majestueuse qu'une reine. Une actrice qui rend le temps présent plus beau. Une actrice en prise avec la réalité à l'écoute des soubresauts du monde.

Son dernier film Carole Matthieu de Louis Julien Petit vient de sortir en France et est projeté ce soir au Palais des Congrès. Un film dont elle est à l’initiative. Dans ce thriller social et engagé, Isabelle Adjani interprète une médecin du travail qui, lasse de dénoncer en vain les conditions de travail des employés d'un centre d'appel, décide de contraindre ses dirigeants à revoir leurs méthodes. Isabelle Adjani, s’impose dès ses débuts comme l’une des comédiennes les plus sollicitées du monde. Bouleversante, généreuse, rêvée par tous les cinéastes et capable de jouer tous les registres, elle est courtisée par les plus grands. François Truffaut, André Téchiné, Roman Polanski, Claude Miller, Werner Herzog, James Ivory, Patrice Chéreau ou Jean-Paul Rappeneau lui offrent des rôles qui la distinguent et réalisent ainsi leurs plus beaux films grâce à son talent exceptionnel.

Isabelle Adjani reçoit une double Palme d’interprétation au Festival de Cannes pour ses rôles dans Possession d’Andrzej ŻZuławski et Quartet de James Ivory. Après quatre Césars pour ses rôles dans Possession, L’Été meurtrier de Jean Becker, Camille Claudel de Bruno Nuytten, et La Reine Margot de Patrice Chéreau, elle en obtient un cinquième, pour son interprétation dans La Journée de la jupe de Jean-Paul Lilienfeld, faisant d’elle l’actrice la plus récompensée par l’Académie à ce jour. Isabelle est la promesse de Marrakech.